The Maison de nos Aïeux, historical Centre of the Island of Orleans, offers, thanks to its exhibits, a glimpse of the past of this mythic island. It is the only place offering an extensive overview of the history of the island and of its inhabitants.
Who discovered the Island of Orleans? How many families settled here back in the New France period? How did our ancestors live? What distinguishes the six parishes of the island from one another? Let our guides tell you about the rich history of an extraordinary island.
The Island of Orleans has always been known for its abundance of local products and its expertise passed on from generation to generation. Learn about the history and the particularities of the agricultural expertise that modeled the traditions and the landscape of the island.
Go back to a time where the parishers had only one fear and idol : the priest of the parish. Open the doors on the mystical places that are the rectories. Be a bit voyeuristic and take a look at the room of priest Côté, priest of Sainte-Famille until 1951.
Produced by artists Mimi Lépine and Michel Blouin, the Mournings and light exhibition adresses the various bereavements that can be encountered in the course of a lifetime. The exhibition will be presented from September 28th, 2022 to April 2, 2023.
Information and reservation